World Cup


World Cup history

FIFA World Cup

The World Cup's past Before the year 1930 AD, the only international sporting competitions were the Olympic competitions, which included only amateur teams, as well as a few unofficial games and competitions in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, such the twice-held Sir Thomas Lipton Cup competition: in 1909 FIFA organized a sizable event in 1911 that featured numerous teams from all over the world as football became more professional and international with time. The inaugural World Cup competition was held in Uruguay in 1930; since then, it has been conducted every four years, and the Jules Rimet Cup trophy has been given to the champion; He is the Frenchman who came up with the idea for the competition, and the cup carried that name until 1970 A.D., when a new cup was introduced and given the name "World Cup" alone.

The group that has won the most World Cups

The teams who won the most World Cups from the tournament's first edition in 1930 AD through 2018 are listed in the following table:

1954SwitzerlandWest GermanyHungary3-2
1966EnglandEnglandWest Germany4-2 (et)
1994USABrazilItaly0-0 (3-2pen)
2006GermanyItalyFrance1-1 (5-3pen)
2010South AfricaSpainHolland1-0

The World Cup team with the worst luck in tournament history

Many teams competed in the World Cup and advanced to the final, but they were not successful in taking home the trophy. These teams include the Netherlands, which has made it to the final three times without taking home a trophy, Hungary, which has made it to the final twice without taking home a trophy, and Argentina, which has made it to the final five times with only two victories.

About the World Cup

The World Cup, or the FIFA World Cup as it is formally known, is an international athletic event that draws billions of fans to televisions and stadiums; This competition, which is hosted once every four years in a certain nation by the International Football Association Board known as FIFA, is regarded as the most watched sporting event in the world (FIFA). 32 national teams will compete against one another in a final elimination round to determine the winner.

Qatar World Cup 2022

The most prestigious sporting event in the world will be held in the Middle East for the first time in the tournament's 92-year history when Qatar is selected as the host nation on December 2, 2010, according to FIFA. In the fourth round of voting, Qatar defeated Australia, Japan, South Korea, and the United States to win the right to host the World Cup.

All of the stadiums nominated to host the competition are located within 60 kilometers of one another, with the exception of one stadium, making the Qatari file, which was awarded the honor of organizing, stand out for having provided the "greatest organization" for the World Cup ever. The FIFA Executive Committee was impressed by the organizing committee's unique architectural vision and ambitious plan to harness solar energy and use it to revitalize players and fans in an eco-friendly manner. The organizing committee also promised to build nine new stadiums and renovate three others.

You compete in 64 matches that begin and end at the magnificent Lusail Stadium, which was especially built to host the World Cup and has a carbon impact. The State of Qatar will host 31 other nations during the tournament (zero carbon footprint).

After the organizers promised to modify 9 stadiums after the events and supply 170,000 seats for poor countries with the objective of building their sports infrastructure, it is anticipated that this tournament will leave a lasting legacy not only in Qatar but in all nations of the world.

Qatar 2022 World Cup Draw

Qatar 2022 World Cup Draw

In Doha, the capital of Qatar, the World Cup draw, "Qatar 2022," was canceled today, Friday, and this led to heated arguments.

November 21 marks the start of the competition, which closes on December 18.

As the number of teams increases to 48 for the 2026 season, this will be the final edition with 32 teams.

29 teams have qualified for Qatar 2022, leaving 3 teams to compete in the European play-off (one team) and the global playoff to determine their fate (two teams).

Germany, the World Cup champion four times, and Spain, the champion once, will square off in the fifth group.

The draw was as follows, after distributing the teams according to 4 levels:

Ø  Group A: Qatar - Ecuador - Senegal – Netherlands.

Ø  Group B: England - Iran - USA – Wales.

Ø  Group C: Argentina - Saudi Arabia - Mexico – Poland.

Ø  Group D: France - Australia - Denmark – Tunisia.

Ø  Group E: Spain - Costa Rica - Germany – Japan.

Ø  Group F: Belgium - Canada - Morocco - Croatia

Ø  Group G: Brazil - Serbia - Switzerland – Cameroon.

Ø  Group H: Portugal - Ghana - Uruguay - South Korea

Find out more about the World Cup groups and match dates

World Cup Standings